Lake Of Happiness

In-Person Event Date

February 27, 2021 - 1:45pm
Virtual Performance Dates: 
Saturday, February 27, 2021 to Friday, December 31, 2021
Q and A with Filmmaker following the film session:
Eduardo M Escribano Solera
Jörn Möllenkamp
Film Length:
Film Has Subtitles
Film Language:
Premier Status: 
Date Completed: 
February, 2019


Bueu International Film Festival Bueu September 19, 2019 Spanish Premiere Three Awards: Jury Prize, Best Actress, Best Direction Spain Nevada City Film Festival Nevada City, CA August 31, 2019 Winner Best of the Fest and Best Narrative Film Awards United States 30 Hessen Film Awards Hessen October 19, 2019 German Premiere Winner Best Film Award Germany Trieste Film Festival Trieste February 1, 2020 Italian Premiere Winner Best Film Award Italy Germany Academy Film Awards Berlin January 1, 2020 Nominated Best National Film Award Germany

In a small Belarusian village where time seems to stand still, Jasja, a 9-year-old girl, has to deal with
her mother‘s death.


Aliaksei Paluyan

Aliaksei Paluyan was born in 1989 in Baranovitchi, in the Republic of Belarus. At that time Belarus was part of the Soviet Union. 

In 2012 he graduated from the Belarusian State University of Informatics and Radioelectronics with a degree in engineering and informatics. 

During that time Aliaksei developed a strong interest 

in cinematography and in 2012 he started his academic studies at the Art Academy Kassel in the field Visual Communication specializing in Film and Television by Prof. Yana Drouz. Aliaksei Paluyan works as a director of documentary and fiction films. 

Aliakseis first creative documentary COUNTRY OF WOMEN participated in the International Main Competition of the prestigious ZagrebDOX Film Festival and won the award „For adherence to moral ideals in cinema art“ at the Minsk IFF Listapad. COUNTRY OF WOMEN was shown at MakeDox and Kassel Documentary Film and Video Festival. 

In 2019 his short fiction LAKE OF HAPPINESS (Co-production Germany/Belarus/Spain) had its world Premiere at Clermont-Ferrand ISFF and selected to Palms Springs ISFF, Odense ISFF, Hof IFF.